

# CAPE TOWN GEM & MINERAL CLUB CELEBRATING THE 50<sup>TH</sup> ANNIVERSARY 1962-2012

#### 8<sup>th</sup> December, 2012

This was the final Monthly Meeting of the year and also an anniversary celebration of the club's 50<sup>th</sup> year. There was a good turnout of members and a number of old friends present - sixty five in all. No speakers were invited but the Chairman, Malcolm Jackson, gave a short history of the club. To give a festive atmosphere 1960's music was played, and photos of the club and its

members of days-gone-by were visible both in a display case and a computer slide show (some members are looking a bit older these days) and balloons were scattered about the floor.

Displays of quartz were exhibited by some members in response to a request to make the day a great Quartz Fest. These included crystals of all sizes, including several giant Jan Coetzees, lapidary

carvings in blue lace agate, spheres of various coloured stones, and cabochons and facetted gemstones.

Dave Hawes had donated a chunk of Loeriesfontein rock, studded with minute "Herkimer diamonds". Everyone present at the party was given a free raffle ticket, and Annette Schram was the lucky winner who could then spend her holidays "mining" the tiny quartz crystals.

A super feast was then laid on by the committee including Margaret Jackson, with financial help from Rob Smith, and ice cream donated by Gino Gallon. Pat Pearce cut the anniversary cake made by Jo Wicht. Among the great foodstuffs, I thought the delicious sausage was worth a special mention.

After this an auction was held with 50 diverse lots on offer (all





donated by club members). Jan Wicht was the auctioneer assisted by Ken Coleman. The goodly sum of R5805 was raised (seemingly!) without the need of a shill. (A shill is an employee of the auctioneers, who bids along with the best of them, to raise the bidding prices). The top lot was a magnificent facetted smokey quartz necklace made and donated by Jim Florence, a former chairman of the club. It was bought for R1,200.00. TVJ



Aletta and Maurice Conradie with Duncan Miller



Alicja Janowska and Rob Smith





John Selby and Dave and Petra Hawes inspect the auction lots, as well as Aletta and Maurice Conradie



Andre Swart and Sigrid Heiss



Rolf Brandt and Jim Florence





Amour Venter and Alastair Reay

Pat Pearce





Malcolm shows off the Herkimer diamonds rock, while Ken and Jan draw the lucky winner

Feasting





Britha and David Padkin



Imme Wolf, Flo Ross and Heinz Wolff



Charlie Scharfetter and Alain Huchon



### Ken Coleman sells the pink bag to Alastair Reay



Gino Gallon and Jan Wicht busy with the icecream



Bella Hawkins tries her cone



Graham Harrison, Carol Coleman, and Richard Harrison



Kerry, Bella, and Lance Hawkins



Malcolm Jackson and Jo Wicht



Gino Gallon and Colin Clark



Christine Wale, Margaret Jackson and Geni Grandi







**BRAAI TIME** 

Among those present were: Malcolm & Margaret Jackson, Jo & Jan Wicht, Ken & Carol Coleman, Duncan Miller & Michael Schoeman, Trevor Vaughan Jones, Gino & Maureen Gallon, Alain Huchon, Lynne & David Marks, Martine van der Westhuysen, Colin Clarke, Rolf Brandt, Tracy Hannath, Henry & Annette Schram, Sigrid Heiss, Remo & Mabel Ciolli, Marion Coleman & Brett Burgell, Johann de Jongh, Dave & Petra Hawes, John Selby, Rockey & Paula Ollewagen, Lance, Kerry & Bella Hawkins, Graham, Nicky, Craig & Richard Harrison, Tienie & Rinda du Toit, Andre Swart, Maurice & Aletta Conradie, Imme & Heinz Wolff, Britha & David Padkin, Flo Ross, Charles Hartlieb, Jim & Maggie Florence, Amour Venter & Alastair Reay, Joey von Borstel, Charlie Scharfetter, Christine Wale, Rob Smith & Alicja Janowska (African Gems & Minerals), Tineyi Masuku, Geni Grandi, John & Susan Williams, Pat Pearce & Lynn Mills Riddell, Ken Nelson.

Photographs by Margaret Jackson

## **CLUB HISTORY**

## The Founding of the Mineralogical Society of Southern Africa in 1962

The prime mover in the formation of the Mineralogical Society of Southern Africa was Mr. George Swanson, who in 1961 had his lawyer draw up a constitution.

On the evening of January 5, 1962 several interested persons gathered at the El Sombrero Restaurant and formed a committee of the following office-bearers: president, Mr. George Swanson, vice-chairman, Mr. W. H. Linnington; treasurer, Mrs. E. Swanson; secretary, Mrs. I van der Meulen, and committee members, Messrs. D Greef, M. Connor, and F. Sawyer.

The next meeting saw an increase of interest. Since that date membership of the club has steadily increased and now numbers some 90 persons.

Owing to Mr. Swanson's leaving Cape town, the chairmanship of the club was taken over by Mr. W H Linnington, and the treasureship by Mr. W. Bongers, the vice-chairmanship being held by Mr. H. H. Hermans.

During the five years of its existence, the club has had various speakers on lapidary methods, silver-smithing, identification of minerals, geology and allied subjects, including stone-age implements, films and slide shows.

The society is interested in all earth sciences. Many members collect specimens and about a third of them cut and polish stones and do jewellery work. The first field trip was in March, 1962, to the tin mine at Kuils River, followed by an Easter trip to Springbok and Henkries valley.

Trips are only possible during long weekends since Cape Town and its environs have little to offer of interest to the members. Long distances have to be covered before a location of interest can be reached and it is taken as a matter of course that a round trip often ranges from 600 to 1,200 miles there and back. Under these circumstances, it is gratifying to see the large turnout of cars and members on these long trips.

The club has no facilities for cutting and polishing as yet, but meets every second Friday of the month at the Royal Observatory at 8 p.m. Committee meetings are held at members' homes on the third Thursday of the month.

### Chairmen

1962 - 1968	William H Linnington
1968 – 1971	Maurice Conradie
1971 - 1974	Freddy de Jager
1975 – 1982	Mike du Toit
1982 - 1985	Maurice Conradie
1985 – 1990	Malcolm Jackson
1990 – 1992	Jim Florence
1992 – 1999	Malcolm Jackson
1999 – 2001	Henri Schram

20012002	Horst von Borstal
2002 – 2003	Graham Harrison
2003 – 2005	Del Delport
2005 – 2006	Siegi Meyer
2006 – 2007	Acting chairman – Malcolm Jackson
2007 – 2012	Malcolm Jackson

## **Gemborees Hosted**

Springbok	1969
Springbok	1985
Springbok	1991
Kuraman	1997
Springbok	2002
Kakamas	2006
Upington	2011

The club has had eleven different chairmen, some repeating chairmanship more than once.

The badge and flag were changed in 1979 to the present one that was designed by Yvonne Comrie, and modernised slightly in 2012.

We have held six mini shows at various venues.

In 1977 Cape Town held a festival for which the Cape Town Mineralogical Club held a show in Cavendish Hall which attracted some 3000 visitors.

The club has four sales and display events at different centres.

Cape Town has hosted three F.O.S.A.G.A.M.S shows and competitions which were open to the public.

We have hosted 7 F.O.S.A.G.A.M.S Gemborees, out of the 45 held from 1968 -2012, remembering that in the early days there were 11 clubs around the country.

The club has held two leases of premises at Montebello and Bothasig.

